Historic Mitchelville Freedom Park

Juneteeth: Justice, Freedom and Democracy

Live Stream on Friday, June 19th

Premiering at 9am PT | 11am CT | 12pm ET


On June 19, six leading Black museums and historical institutions from coast to coast join forces to launch BLKFREEDOM.org, a digital commemoration of Juneteenth, the day that the Emancipation Proclamation was officially enforced, ending enslavement in Texas.

This timely event features cultural performances from Africa and across America, educational content and appearances by:

  • Lonnie G. Bunch III, the first African American and first historian to serve as the Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution
  • Dr. Johnnetta Betsch Cole, anthropologist, educator, museum director and the first female African American president of Spelman College
  • The Honorable Carla Hayden, Librarian of Congress, the first woman and the first African American to lead the national library