Skip to main content
2024 Academic Bowl Tournament

WCTE thanks all of the competitors from Saturday's tournament!  Our first ever Middle School Academic Bowl was a big success, and we appreciate everyone who was involved.

Congratulations to our winners:
- First Place: Upperman Middle School's team (Coach Caleb Bates)
- Second Place: Portland West Middle School's team (Coach Kristy Watts)
- Third place & Winner of the Dr. Ed Culp Spirit of Competition Award: Prescott South Middle School's team (Coach Amy Baggett)

A huge thank you also goes out to our sponsor, Tennessee Tech University! 

Episodes will air July 8-12! Catch them daily at 4:30 p.m. on WCTE! 

Filer image
Filer image

2023 Academic Bowl

WCTE hosted its annual Academic Bowl for Middle Tennessee high school students in November 2023.  12 schools competed in this double-elimination tournament sponsored by Tennessee Tech University.  

2023 Winners: 

1st Place - Cookeville High School (Coach Sam Matson)

2nd Place - Gallatin High (Coach Brian Hoover)

Dr. Ed Culp Spirit of Competition Award Winner - Scott High (Coach Sindi Jeffers)

Funding for the event is also provided by the First Horizon Foundation.

Filer image

While not open to the public, the 2023 WCTE Academic Bowl will be livestreamed on and on our Facebook page.
The tournament will be broadcast as a series of episodes, airing January 22-26, 2024 at 4:30pm!

Filer image


Cookeville, Tenn-  WCTE PBS held our 36th annual Academic Bowl tournament on March 2, 2023, at Tennessee Tech University‚Äôs Derryberry Hall.  We would like to announce and congratulate the winning teams:

1st Place:  Cookeville High School, coached by Sam Matson

2nd Place:  Gallatin High School, coached by Brian Hoover

3rd Place and winner of Dr. Ed Culp Spirit of Competition Award:  Alvin C. York Agricultural Institute, coached by Jonathan Crabtree

Eleven schools from across Middle Tennessee, and up to 64 students competed in the tournament.  We thank all of these impressive scholars, as well as their coaches and school administrations, and hope to have everyone back for an even bigger and better tournament next year!  

Filer image
Filer image

This year's Academic Bowl features 12 teams with 75 students, competing from across Middle Tennessee. Schools are listed below. At the end of this single-elimination tournament, trophies will be awarded to the 1st and 2nd place winners, and one team will win the traditional Dr. Fred Culp Spirit of Competition Award. This event is sponsored by Tennessee Tech University.

  • Alvin C. York Agricultural Institute
  • Beech High School
  • Cookeville High School
  • DeKalb High School
  • Gallatin High School
  • Hendersonville High School
  • Midway High School
  • Mount Juliet High School
  • Oneida High School
  • Portland High School
  • Scott High School
  • Upperman High School